IN THE NEWS | Hawaii DHHL Finishes Anahola Water System Improvements

In the News

Oceanit worked with the Department of Hawaiian Homes Lands (DHHL) to complete a water system improvement project on the island of Kaua’i. The project, funded in part by the United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development, Water and Environmental Program, was a collaborative approve to refurbish the Anahola Farm Lots Water System, Public Water System No. 432, in Anahola, Kauaʻi. The project was launched in late 2020 with the goal of installing new waterlines, pressure regulator stations, smart meters, lateral connections, and a new 500,000-gallon concrete water tank.

Oceanit served as a design consultant on the project, working with contractors Kaʻiwa Construction Inc. and Kiewit Infrastructure West Co., in addition to engineering firm Bower’s and Kubota. Another DHHL contractor, Aqua Engineers, will provide ongoing maintenance of the Anahola system, which serves approximately 45 farm lots and 30 residential lots with potable water. Anahola’s new and improved system actually doubles as a unique backup water supply system for the County of Kauai’s area water system. This new interconnection also allows the farms and residential lots to be backed up by the County of Kauai system in the event that the Anahola Water system is inoperable.

Oceanit’s RiSE team has an extensive background in water resource engineering, with capabilities to provide water well design, drilling, and construction supervision; well-pumping test design, supervision, and yield determination; water use permit support; and geothermal development.

To read the full project complete release, please click here:

The DHHL is governed by the Hawaiian Homes Commission Act of 1920, enacted by the U.S. Congress to protect and improve the lives of native Hawaiians. The primary responsibilities of the Department of Hawaiian Home Lands are to serve its beneficiaries and to manage its extensive land trust. The land trust consists of over 200,000 acres on the islands of Hawai‘i, Maui, Moloka‘i, Lāna‘i, O‘ahu, and Kaua‘i.

For more information, please visit